• Overview
  • RRC Review Procedure
  • REgulatory Reform System
- Korean's state-led economic development strategy, begun in the 1960s, yielded impressive results. Recently however, the opinion is spreading that excessive government regulations are hindering the market from effectively allocating resources and lowering Korea’s competitiveness. Also, in a period of accelerating globalization, government regulations have emerged as a major cause of trade frictions, making the need for regulatory reform even more urgent.
- With these considerations in mind, the Korean Government began regulatory reform in earnest in the 1990s. In 1993, about 6,000 regulations were reformed by the Administrative Reform Committee, and in 1997, nearly 100 reform projects were selected and begun by the Regulatory Reform Promotion Committee. However, these reform efforts were mostly limited to resolving simple and minor inconveniences such as reducing the number of required documents.
- To address these limitations in regulatory reform, the government passed the Basic Law on Regulatory Reform in 1998, formed the Regulatory Reform Committee (with two chairpersons: the Prime Minister and a civilian Chairman), and began to intensively review existing regulations and screen regulations to be introduced or strengthened.
- Twelve years since its establishment on April 16, 1998, the Regulatory Reform Committee is being led by its sixth Chairman, and its members are composed of regulatory reform experts from academia, business, and citizens’ groups.
Purpose of establishment
- The Regulatory Reform Committee was established under the President to comprehensively enact regulatory reform tasks, including the discussion and adjustment of regulatory policy and the evaluation and reform of regulations. (Article 23 of Basic Law on Administrative Regulations, April 18, 1998)
- Determining basic direction of regulatory policy and research/development of regulatory systems.
- Evaluating new regulations and those to be strengthened.
- Evaluating existing regulations, drafting and executing comprehensive regulatory reform plan.
- Registering and publicizing regulations.
- Gathering and considering opinions on regulatory reform.
- Inspecting and evaluating actual regulatory reform progress at each administrative level.
- The committee is composed of 22 members including the Prime Minister(chairman), a chairman from the private sector, 14 civilian committee members, and 6 government members.
Name Position
Chairman JI Hyung Kim Attorney at Law / Managing Partner
Minister of Strategy and Finance
Minister of Trade, Industry and Energy
Ministry of SMEs and Startups Ministry of SMEs and Startups
Minister of the Interior Minister of the Interior
Minister of Office for Government Policy Coordination
Chairman, Fair Trade Commission
Minister of Government Legislation
COOK, KYUNG-BOOK Chonbuk National University, Department of Economics
Mun, So Young Director of The Editorial Board
Park So Ra Inha University School of Medicine Dean
Yang, Ok Kyoung Professor, Dept of Social Welfare, Ewha Womans University
Won, Gu-Hwan Department of Public Administration, Professor
Won Sookyeon Professor, Department of public administration, Ewha Womans University
YOUN SO RA UI,President
LEE DUK SEUNG National Council of the Greensumers Network Korea
Lee sei young Law Firm Sae Rom
Lee JungHee Profeessor, School of Economics, Chung-Ang University
Lee, Cheol-Soo Professor, Law school, Seoul National University
Im Jae Jin Department of Public Administration, University of Seoul
CHUN JAE KYONG National Nature Trust CEO
Joh, Sung Wook Professor, College of Business Administration, Seoul National University
Choi Hee-Yoon Korea Institute of Science and Technology Information
RRC Review Procedure
Regulatory Reform System